Monday, June 16, 2014

Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence

Prince of Fools (The Red Queen’s War, #1)
Prince of Fools is the first book of Mark Lawrence’s new series, The Red Queen’s War, which is a spinoff of The Broken Empire series.   I really enjoyed the Broken Empire series, and was glad to be back in the same world, but with new characters.  Do not fret Jorgan is back, but readers will be surprised by the timing of the Red Queen’s War series in comparison to the last series’ ending.  Prince of Fools introduces Prince Jalan, who encompasses the characteristics of a spoiled prince.  He gambles, he womanizes, he drinks, and his hijinks are spoken about throughout the land.  Soon Jalan’s lap of luxury life will burn up in smoke, due to the impending undead army that marches through the lands.   After the Silent Sister, a witch who services the Queen and only Jalan and a few others can see, sets a spell on Jalan that ties him to a Norse warrior, Snorri, they both begin a journey to the North.  This journey is not just about separating the two but about finding the undead army.  With battles, women, and endless taunts this is a journey of pure high fantasy, and comedy. 
4 out of 5 stars.  Thank You Edelweiss.

No comments:

Post a Comment